Conservation Status

NOTE: The conservation statuses shown on our pages are according to the World Conservation Union IUCN red list.

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species is the best-known worldwide conservation status listing and ranking system. The system divides threatened species into three categories: Critically Endangered (CR), Endangered (EN), and Vulnerable (VU).

The International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) is an international organization dedicated to natural resource conservation.

Founded in 1948, its headquarters is located in the Lake Geneva area in Gland, Switzerland. The IUCN brings together 83 states, 108 government agencies, 766 non-governmental organizations and 81 international organizations and about 10,000 experts and scientists from countries around the world.

Risk of Extinction

  • Extinction
  • Extinct
  • Extinct in the Wild
  • Threatened
  • Critically Endangered
  • Endangered
  • Vulnerable
  • Threatened
  • Lower risk
  • Conservation Dependent
  • Near Threatened
  • Least Concern